How We Pick Where We Live

Posted: February 5, 2014 in Full Time Camper

It has been a while since I have posted anything about being a full-timer. So I figure it is time for a post. In case you’re new to this post a full-timer is someone who lives in their RV full time. This winter I am cheating a little bit. I am still at the same campground we call this home, however we have moved into a cabin for the winter. To give you a quick lay of the land this is where we are now. I know it is pretty difficult to see but my rig is circled in blue. Our home is a 40 foot Alpine 3555 RL. It weighs about 15,000 pounds and that is important to know when I want to move it from place A to place B. For more specific information on how we got to where we are now, you can check out this post.

In that post I was curious as to what questions people had about my lifestyle, one of the most often asked questions is, “How do we pick where we live”?

So the obvious place to start is the requirements, there are the nice things to have and then there are the things that are required.

  • The first requirement is internet and phone connection. If I can’t bring in a phone line then I need to make sure I have cell phone connection these are the basic for me to continue to work.
  • There has to be an opportunity for my wife to work at or near by. She likes to work outside and loves the lifestyle. She enjoys working, so this is super important.
  • Another really important aspect to us is that it is out in the wilderness. Anything that is outside of town, and away from people. At the same time I need to be within a couple hours of a major airport.
  • For me it is important there is an aspect to where we live where I can work part time. Now I work security and host during the weekends and nights when needed. I consider it a type of therapy. This gives me the chance to get out and work with and help people that I normally don’t get to meet.
  • Another key feature for me when it comes to where we live is the wildlife that is around. For those people who know me, I love bears, and so does my wife. Not everywhere we have been has had bears. When we were in the desert in California I became really fond of owls as well. Here is one of my bear friends I took a picture of last spring/summer. He was not too happy with me and showed me.

So I guess the bigger question is how we find these jobs/places to live. There are a couple ways we do this. Where we are during the summer is our home. So we always will come back here. We love this place. One of the sites we use is http://workamper.com/ . They list our resume and have job postings there. We found a great place we were supposed to be at this winter however some health issues stopped the trip this winter. Another place is http://koa.com/ but you have to be really careful on this site. Most KOA campgrounds are not destination resorts. What this means is they are located along a major highway and really the resorts are there for people who need a place to camp as they travel from one location to another. With that being said, we did have the opportunity to meet one of the owners of the nicest KOA I have ever seen last spring, if we ever went somewhere else during the summer this would be at the top of the list. This resort is a destination resort http://koa.com/campgrounds/williams/ because it is so close to the Grand Canyon. If you look on the website and it looks familiar it is because it was on the TV show Undercover Boss. Like I said we had a chance to meet one of the owners. This guy was awesome and you could tell he really loved his place. I cannot recommend it enough.

There are a number of ways to find resorts, but once we have identified ones that meet the criteria or minimum recommendations we do one more bit of research. We look to see if we can find a review on it. The biggest sight out there now with the best reviews is called RVParkReview.com it’s not the best site in the world, but the reviews are spot on most of the time.

So I hope you enjoyed the post, if you have a question about this full time life style let me know. I can tell you the one thing I use to ask people was if they regretted the decision to live this way. Most often the answer is the same, the only regret they have is that they didn’t do it sooner.

Leave a Reply

