BCP.exe, Flashback

Posted: November 26, 2013 in dbUtilities, SQLServerPedia Syndication
Tags: ,

In 1995 or 1996 I had to make a decision on what direction I wanted to take with my career. I could not have been more than 24 or 25 at the time, but I was working as an Operations Director for a small anti-freeze recycling company in Southern California. Anyhow I was left with a decision, do I learn Oracle or Microsoft SQL Server. The discussion was with a new employer and that is a whole complete different story for another time, however I was making the decision not only for me, but for a company as well because they were looking for my advice and I was going to be the DBA. The decision was made and I started to read books and head to a few training classes. My first task was to create a database, and then import a whole ton of data into it. None of those classes prepared me for one of my first tasks as a DBA outside the basics of installing and creating a database and the table I would need. Don’t get me wrong, I needed those classes and without them I would have had a much more difficult time that I did. If I remember correctly I had 7 books on my shelf that had in it what we know now as books on-line. With these instruction manuals there was a good amount of information that told me how to complete a specific task, but no reference for what was the best way to approach a task. There was only one book I had on my shelf, that had a chapter about moving data around, and it had about a page on an application called BCP (this is all from memory, so don’t hold me to the specifics), or Bulk Copy Program (BCP). I had found my answer.

Here it is some 19 years later and I found myself using BCP again just the other day. I can tell you that I know many DBA’s that are not aware of this tool; it doesn’t come with an awesome looking UI or any UI at all, and doesn’t have the strength of DTS or SSIS as far as manipulating data. But the tool works, and it is fast. Taking some time to think outside the basic parameters, there are some really great uses for BCP, things like archiving data or generating an export for a customer. I want to make sure that inform you that to get the most out of BCP, just like the other features in SQL Server, you need to take into consideration all the downstream effects. Think about indexes, and how those can slow down and insert, or an identity column. If you prepare correctly I can assure you that you will not be disappointed.

A few tips along the way that I learned with BCP, include:

  • Use a format file, if you are having problems creating one, because well they are not very forgiving of mistakes just BCP out the table that you are trying to BCP data into and you can use the BCP out statement to create a format file for you. I can’t tell you how frustrating it use to make me to try to create a format file from scratch and have my package fail because I had a simple mistake.
  • Use batch files to call your BCP IN or BCP OUT statement. This makes it a whole lot easier to ensure that you have all the flags set just the way you want them, in addition you can also add tasks like copy the file or import the file elsewhere to even automate what you doing even more.
  • Native mode is great if you are going from a SQL Server to a SQL Server.
  • If you have mail configured you can even set up a call to send mail in your batch file to notify you when the data copy had completed.
  • Write the errors out to a file, the errors returned with BCP are not always the friendliest.

In the last 19 years that I have been working with BCP it has had some changes, but it is still around and still works like a champ. The changes have been pretty minor and most of them are to keep up with new features that have been added to SQL Server. So if you reach a point where you need to do something in SQL Server, think about all the tools that you have at hand.

Comments
  1. Chris Yates says:

    Touche’ my friend. Nicely done; plus you brought back, what my son calls, old school 95 style.

  2. Chris Shaw says:

    Not sure if I like to admit it… ;o) Have a great Holiday my friend.

  3. I’m reminded of SQL*Loader in the world of Oracle. Not a fancy tool. No GUI. Just a workhorse loading tool that many DBAs would not choose to live without.

Leave a Reply

