A Few Sessions to Announce

Posted: September 11, 2013 in Events, SQLServerPedia Syndication

I have been going full bore with my new position at Xtivia. To the point I have about half a dozen new blog posts that I want to do, yet searching for the time to complete them. There has been a lot that has happened over the last couple months and I am looking forward to getting my thoughts down. However before I get to that I don’t want to forget to post a couple events that I am schedule for this month in addition to an event that I did last month that you still have time to see. All these events are free, and just require registration. I hope to post the answers to some of the questions I had during the SQL Server Tune Up webinar.

The first one is the Best Disaster Recovery Solution webinar –

What is the Best Disaster Recovery Solution for your SQL Server?

“It depends, every situation is different.”

DBA’s are often asked to provide a solution to very open ended requirements.  However, the best solution can only be providied if the database professional is getting all of the answers to some critical questions.  This webinar is a comparison into many of the Disaster Recovery options that SQL Server provides.

Chris says, “When I understand the answers to the critical questions, I can better prepare the best solution, not only for the database, but for the business as well.”

As an attendee you will learn how to provide a solid solution that can be built upon.

The second one is my acceptance to speak at the Denver SQL Saturday #190 on Sept. 27th, this year my session is going to be based all on different Interview Tips.


Have you been asked for an interview for that perfect job? The job that you would love to have on a team that you really want to be a part of? It is time to sharpen those interview skills. Every interview is different. During this session we will talk about my observations from many interviews that I have been a part of. There are many examples in this session on how not to present yourself, during an interview. We may laugh at some of the observations, but there are many lessons to learn. Get an inside look at how hiring managers make decisions, and make sure you know what to look for as the candidate. Have you been tasked with conducting an interview? We will complete the session with some tips on how to make sure that you get the information you need to make a good decision.

The last one is the SQL Server Tune Up
webinar –

Chris Shaw, our presenter says, “After I bought my first car I quickly learned that if I did not perform regular scheduled tune ups and maintenance tasks that my car would start to slowly degrade in performance. If neglected completely the car will stop running altogether. In the owner’s manual of your car most likely there is a recommend maintenance section. All this information has been compiled to increase the reliability of your vehicle and extend the life of the vehicle. Tune ups for your SQL Server are no different than tuning up your car.”

SQL Server database hardware, configurations and designs should undergo the same process that will extend the performance and lifetime of the databases and the hardware. Often symptoms such as degrading performance, increased errors or warnings, and concerns about reliability can be solved with regularly scheduled tune ups.

In this webinar we will discuss:

What regularly scheduled maintenance items you should perform.

The importance of regularly scheduled maintenance to include the long term impacts of performing these maintenance items.

Where to start and how to continue with the maintenance when business requirements demand your focus elsewhere.

Comments
  1. Chris Yates says:

    Will make 2 out of the 3; good luck in Denver.

Leave a Reply

