Making My Life Just a Bit Easier

Posted: October 7, 2012 in Product Review, SQLServerPedia Syndication

Remote Desktop Manager Product Review

Stating the obvious:

As a SQL Server Professional, I spend most of my time working within SQL Server.

What about the not so obvious:

There are so many aspects to my professional life that have nothing to do with SQL Server, things like email, managing tasks or to-do lists, creating power points, and keeping all my remote connections secure and organized. Think about the large amount of sensitive information that you have to retain to just simply connect to the servers that you need to work on;

  • Server Name (not always as obvious and friendly as you might like)
  • User Accounts
  • Passwords

And those are just for starters. There are service accounts, administrative accounts, dev accounts and the list goes on and on. A couple years ago I found a tool that Microsoft had called the Remote Desktop Connection Manager; this tool allows me to save all my remote connection information, and access it from one place. There are a number of basic functions that make life a lot easier for me, however as I added more and more to it, and wanted it to do just a little bit more I found the tool to be lacking in what I needed it to do. That is how my search started.

Before too long I ran across a product by Devolutions called Remote Desktop Manager. A couple inquiries on twitter were giving me more information than I could ever want. It did not take long for me to be off and running. There are a number of features that I like but some of them make my management of connections so much easier, for me I like the ability to tie into KeePass to save my credentials or I can just save them to my local machine, and the ability to group my connections in folders and sub folders.

The more that I work with the tool, I am finding places where I can store personal information for my own use, or there is the ability to use a central repository where I can share connection information with other people that I am working with. The first question that comes to mind is how secure this is, but there is the ability to set default credentials and then over ride them for Individual users.

The flexibility in how I organize my servers in the User Interface help me find and narrow down what I am looking for quickly, each one of the sessions (connections that I make to a server) that I start, uses saved information such as server name, user account and password all ready to go.

The purpose of this post is to share what I have been using as a tool to help me navigate around the servers and connections that I use when I have so much information to keep track of. This is so much more secure than the many options that I have used or seen used in the past, and the speed to access the information or the servers is incredibly fast and easy.

There is so much more to this tool that I cannot do it justice with a simple product review. After I installed the tool, I was connected to servers using VPN and remote desktop in an organized fashion in just minutes. Remote Desktop Manager was so easy to set up and configure that I was back to working on the many needed task before I could take the time to look at all the features.

Comments
  1. Chris Yates says:

    Great post, checking out the link and hope that this simplifies some of my headaches that I have. Thanks for taking the time to share this.

  2. patrickhoban says:

    Nice write up. I’ve been using RDM as well for a few years. It’s amazing. I’m not sure how I managed all my servers before it.

  3. […] today on a new tool that I have been using, Remote Desktop Manager by Devolutions. (I posted a blog about it a few months back if you are interested in seeing […]

  4. […] there were a lot of features that I never thought I would use. (Here is a review I did on the product, and a quick tip on using the data grid to get a quick report) Today a year or so later, I am still […]

Leave a Reply

