Wrap Up to t-SQL Tuesday #30

Posted: May 21, 2012 in Career, SQLServerPedia Syndication, T-SQL Tuesday

I have to admit. I am a little surprised at all the different opinions that were shared during the t-SQL Tuesday #30 from a couple weeks ago. Let me tell you why…

First I have to admit there are times when I look at a situation and I say to myself, what is the problem here. The solution appears to be so obvious to me that there can only be one reason that it is not in place, and that is because no one cares enough to make sure it happens. So how does this relate? The question I asked was do we need some sort of ethics code in our industry. To me the answer appeared to be so obvious that I was really surprised that we did not have one.

I have discussed the topic many times before with a number of people, there have even been some really good attempts as having a code drawn up. But I think for the most part most of the people that replied to the question either in the thread of this discussion, in person or on Twitter that if someone were to try to do this, it sure as heck would not be an easy thing to do. There were discussion on how to enforce, and how a small group of people could even determine a code of ethics for the whole industry. It was even mentioned what one person may feel as ethical another may not.

It sounds like of those people who did oppose it, were not doing so because they were not ethical, but because they were not sure how it could be managed or enforced. But a common theme that I did hear and see was the need for everyone to be ethical. Enough of hearing me blab about it, here is what the link backs have said.

SSWUG in a newsletter a while back discussing what some of the options are.

Mike Donnelly – I love this quote…. “If you need an ethics class or a signed code of ethics to help shape your behavior it is probably not going to change how you behave”

Rebecca MitchellA list of some of the Ethical issues she has had to work on.

Jonathan Gardner – A look at some cross over with the PMI code of Ethics.

Rob Farley – I like his companies view on this. “do the right thing by the other parties involved, even if it costs us money”.

Robert Pearl – The first post that had me looking at the question of what is considered ethical.

Tamera Michelle Clark – Your Company asks you to do something you consider un-ethical but they have no issue with it? This happened to me (a long time ago), and I understand all too well.

Jason Strate – Some really good arguments as to why we should not look at and industry wide ethics statement. A great post that was very well thought out, but now he is off performance tuning.

Airborne Geek – A different look at the same question.

So there you have it, I have talked to a few people and I even saw a couple links but I did not catch the link back so I cannot remember where they were. I can tell you that this ended up with some really deep discussions that took me in directions I did not think I would go. Have I changed my mind? Yeah I guess you could say that I did. For a long time I would have said yes I think we need an industry standard for ethics, but as I read through the opinions and had discussions I think I am going to stick to this idea.

I will have my ethics or if you will a set of standards that I will choose to live up to. I am sure you have yours as well. Thank you to everyone who participated.

Comments
  1. […] review the SQL Tuesday #30 wrap up on Chris Shaw’s site you can go  here. Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

