How to be a DBA

Posted: April 2, 2012 in Events, SQLServerPedia Syndication, Uncategorized

Not a lot of time this week (working on taking the SQL Server 2012 certification exams), but I wanted to make sure this made it on the blog. Have you signed up for SQL Rally yet? TJay Belt and I are working on a pre-con together and we are having fun putting it together. TJay  (T|Band I were talking about the interview question that they had presented us, and as we were going around about ideas on a Billboard I was thinking about this poster that you see attached. A quick discussion with my good friend Tom Roush and the poster became reality.

The other piece of news I have this week has to do with the Microsoft MVP Award. This is an award that one needs to earn each year. So each year on April 1st, I sit around and worry if I will receive another award, yesterday I found out that I get to put my worries aside for one more year. Each time the award is handed out I spend some time looking to see who the new award winners. This April it looks like Jes Borland (T|B) received her first award. Of the large number of people I have met over the years working with SQL Server, Jes is one of those that left a long lasting impression. She is an active runner, and well, if you get a chance to meet her, be careful… she has a lot of energy. The other new MVP that I am aware of is Kendra Little (T|B). Both Jes and Kendra are great resources. If I missed any other new MVP’s I am so sorry, it is a little difficult to keep up with twitter sometimes and that is where I get the announcements from. Congrats to all the renewed MVP’s and all the new MVP’s.

Comments
  1. Seth says:

    Just curious, but did you earn certifications for SQL Server 2000, 2005, 2008, and are now working on 2012? I earned the 2000 certifications, skipped 2005, and have recently earned the 2008 certifications. Honestly? I can’t say that my life was significantly changed by the certifications. I am struggling to get excited about 2012 certifications.

    What’s your secret?

    • Chris Shaw says:

      Hi Seth,

      Thanks for the comment, It keeps me motivated to keep jotting down notes.

      For me I got a couple of the SQL Server 2005 Certs, I never did go and upgrade them to 2008. However, I did sign up to take the 2012 tests. I went to take the first test today (a beta exam) but did not have a very good experience with Prometric.

      I have nothing against the certification or the process, sometimes with as active as I try to be I just don’t have a lot of time, but then I would make time if they were required of me. The secret? Well, from the past tests, I can tell you that the more experience that you have the better the chances are to pass.

      I hope that helps.

      Chris

Leave a Reply

