Next Step in my Career

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Career, SQLServerPedia Syndication, Uncategorized

I must say that I really enjoy working with a product from the cradle to the grave, and the news that I have today is something that I announce with mixed emotions.  However, I am convinced that I am making the right decision not only for myself, but for my family and my career.

For nearly the last two years I have been employed by a company named Alcohol Monitoring Systems (AMS).   Together we have taken a number of steps in not only learning new ways to do things with the technology but moving the environment forward to the next steps with high availability and SQL Server.  The product that they have is one of the coolest that I have seen and the technology is unmatchable by their peers. One of the things that I really enjoyed with AMS was that each day I came into work I had the opportunity to work on different aspects of SQL Server.  Some days I would be working on administrative features and others working on performance monitoring.  I made a number of friends that I will not soon forget and I hope them success in the future.

I am not sure how much I can say about my new job.  I will be working in Colorado Springs at one of the Air Force bases.  There is a lot of attraction for me to involved with the military again.  There are always new challenges when starting a new position and each one of those challenges provide me with a new opportunity to learn something new about SQL Server, my RDBMS of choice.

Thanks to everyone I have had the opportunity to meet along my career path to this point.

Comments
  1. Congrats Shaw!!! I look forward to hearing about your new adventure. I bet we can find a pool table at #sqlsat104🙂

  2. Mr. Shaw, Change is always great. I wish you success. You do lot for community and I really appreciate that.

  3. Congrats! Have fun at your new post. Let us know what you can when you can and we look forward to hearing about your new challenges.

  4. Chris Yates says:

    Chris, met you at PASS this past year. Enjoy the blog immensely and wish you luck in your next chapter. In knowing that you’ve already served in the military just wanted to say thank you for your time in the service.

    Good Luck
    Chris

Leave a Reply

