My Question for You!

Posted: June 30, 2011 in SQLServerPedia Syndication

I have been thinking. One of the items that I am thinking about a lot is my involvement with the SQL Server Community. Over the course of my career I have looked up to many people. I have taken advantage of many of the offerings by PASS, SSWUG and many other events. I have spoken at a number of these events and I have spent countless hours trying to help other DBA’s. I find this time very rewarding. I have not been quiet when I have expressed my opinion when it comes to subject matters that have impacted these communities.

One thing is very clear to me. I want to continue to serve the community. I want to serve with integrity. I want to help bring new ideas to old issues. I want to make a difference. I want to continue with what so many before me have done, and try to make improvements where I can. I want to follow in the footsteps of all those that I have respected over the last 15 years.

With this being just a few months before the next PASS summit I started thinking about the next steps and how I can make a bigger impact. I am now debating if I should run for the PASS board. I have a lot to think about and I think I have made my decision. Yet, I am curious as to what the community thinks about this and what the community wants from the board.

  • Can I represent members of the community, and would they put their trust in me?
  • What changes does the community want to see, what do they want to remain the same?

I am curious as to what you think, if you have time to leave a comment or send me an email I cannot tell you how much I would appreciate it. I have considered elections before and I don’t think I have ever taken them as seriously as I do this one.

Comments
  1. Tim Mitchell says:

    Chris, glad to hear you’re considering a run for the board. I’ve been pondering that decision myself.

  2. Chris Shaw says:

    Thanks Tim, if you do I wish you the best of luck.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

