What We Can Learn From 9 Year Olds

Posted: May 11, 2011 in SQLServerPedia Syndication

 
 

I am getting ready for SQL Rally and I found an article that I loved. I have to share it with as many people as I can because I want people to remember that when we head over to these events a few simple rules makes everyone’s trips so much more enjoyable.

I have to admit,  I am really nervous about this post, but I think the material is so relevant that I feel like I have to pass it along.  I read an article posted in Parenting Magazine. (I have no idea how I found my way to Parenting, my son is 18 and the only help he asks me for is small and plastic with a Visa logo on it.)  I tried to contact the author and I was unable to find a way to do so.  I have decided to select a few of the points that I find hit home to me and then hope that if you like the IT side of the read then you will visit the link here in the page.

So….

I was reading 25 Manners Every Kid Should Know By Age 9  By David Lowry, Ph.D.

 
 

And as a parent I was happy to know that I taught these things years ago to my son.  But as I was thinking more and more, I could not help but to realize that I know many IT Professionals could really learn to use some of these.  For the complete list head over to the article linked above, and if by chance if you are Dr. Lowry, Thank You for the work,  I would love to talk with you if you could send me an email.  I can be reached at chris @ SQL Shaw.Com (remove the spaces).  Text in green has been quoted from Dr. David Lowry

 
 

When asking for something, say “Please.” 

When receiving something, say “Thank you.”

Do not interrupt grown-ups who are speaking with each other unless there is an emergency. They will notice you and respond when they are finished talking.

 

I can’t believe how many people will ask a question in the halls of a conference, or while you are sitting at dinner while attending a conference.  Now please understand, I like the discussion and I love to visit with everyone, but if you are asking someone a question, please be mindful of their time and Thank them for their time.

The world is not interested in what you dislike. Keep negative opinions to yourself, or between you and your friends, and out of earshot of adults.

Do not comment on other people’s physical characteristics unless, of course, it’s to compliment them, which is always welcome.

Don’t call people mean names.

 
 

 There is a point when two people discussing database designs or the best way to approach a problem can tend to disagree.  This can be healthy to get multiple sides of this, and the benefit of us being adults is that we know when a disagreement has gone too far.  I hate to say it but I have seen it happen.  We go to a conference to learn from each other,  all of us do, there is no reason to make fun of people because what they look like, where they are from or how much they know.  I have seen some discussion where someone is asking a serious question and they quickly felt bad because they asked someone who let them know the question was stupid.

 
 

When you have spent time at your friend’s house, remember to thank his or her parents for having you over and for the good time you had.

Even if a play or an assembly is boring, sit through it quietly and pretend that you are interested. The performers and presenters are doing their best.

 
 

When you are in a session it is always good to remember the above rules. The speakers are doing so much for the sessions and most are not being paid for the sessions.  Take the time to thank them.

 
 

I just wanted to wrap this up by saying here are a couple for the events in general.  If you are going to the Rally please stop by and say “Hi”.  I hope you have a good time.

If you bump into somebody, immediately say “Excuse me.”

Cover your mouth when you cough or sneeze, and don’t pick your nose in public.

As you walk through a door, look to see if you can hold it open for someone else.

Comments
  1. tomroush says:

    Chris – absolutely spot on.

  2. Michael says:

    Excellent and very relevent

Leave a Reply

