What is WIT

Posted: March 8, 2011 in SQLServerPedia Syndication

What is WIT? Ok that was my question for a number of years, but a few years back I had the privilege to talk to someone who shared with me a little bit about the group. I learned that WIT stands for Women in Technology, and with today being National Women’s Day I think it’s a great day to talk about it. WIT is a group of people that get together to talk about issues that women face day to day in the technology field, not just March 8th. At the PASS Summit they have a lunch where at one point in time I thought would be for women only… I was wrong. I can’t recall who said it to me, but whoever it was mentioned that the group is there to help not only the women today, but people like our daughters and sisters, because of this men are welcome to make technology better for everyone. WIT has had a presence as SQL Saturdays where they hosted at table at SQL Saturday #66 where people can sit and talk about WIT issues or anything else they choose.

I am proud to say that when I go to a conference the number of women in percentage to the number of men has increased. I hope this trend continues, there are a number of very strong and very intelligent women working with SQL Server, and helping others learn about SQL Server. So today I am proud to say that I support Women in Technology.

For women in technology, please know there are so many of you that not only myself but others look up to. Keep doing what you do because you teach us the community, and support us in the community in so many ways that you may not realize. Thank You, for your time, and your dedication.

Leave a Reply

