SQL Salesman

Posted: September 28, 2010 in SQLServerPedia Syndication

I don’t know about you but in the past I have had some sales jobs and I can tell you that I hated these more than anything. I could look at a product, study it and tell everyone about it, but I just could not ask for money when it came down to the moment of truth. Time and time again I would try to get someone to sign on the dotted line and I just could not do it. My problem was I just could not get the sale to close. Well today as I was catching up on blogs I saw Sean McCown’s most recent post and I was really surprised in some of thoughts that were the same. See Sean is facing an issue right now where the people that worked at the shop before him were great sales people; the problem was they didn’t know the product from the sounds of it.

I guess the point I am trying to get across here is that, you may not like the idea, and you may disagree with me, and well to be honest I am Ok with that. But the end result is that you as a DBA are a sales person. The product that you are pushing in your day to day job is SQL Server and your skills with SQL Server. Not only do you have to sell solutions but in many cases I have even had to show companies that SQL Server can keep up with Oracle. On top of this there is always the need for being able to sell yourself in a job interview. Or what about when you are working with developers that want to use cursors all over your database?

Keep these things in mind next time you pick up a book to read. You may not need all the features of SQL Server today, but someday you might. Someday you may be asked about features you have never used or never thought you would use. Remind yourself that you are a sales person.

Comments
  1. I’m arriving at the same realization. I’ve proposed solutions in the past but didn’t sell them (well). The ideas were not accepted (bought) and I think that hurt my company. Not saying I’m attending sales seminars or reading sales how-to books but I’m definately working on how I communicate my ideas to help them sell better.

Leave a Reply

