What did you do Today?

Posted: April 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

I hate those days where I have to get up at the crack of dawn, oh no… this was well before dawn. I was up at 3 this morning to go tag some ports. The funny thing is I really was a warm body at this point. I know nothing about port, or hubs, router even teenagers. We had to roll this change that took I swear maybe 3 min to make the change Problem was it did not work. So we applied the back out plan and watched as the network came on line.

Lesson Learned: It’s always nice to learn something new. The time was well worth it. And Back out plans are not something nice to have. It’s a plane that smart people have.

Then I had to go into work and migrate 300 Gigs of database in less than 15 min. Well we had some errors that I should know were there. But I had not taken the time to get rid of them last week when I had the time. End result was I was able to get the database completed. It was a migration from Windows 2003 to Windows 2008 R2. Then we did SQL Server 2k5 to 2k8. To top that off we needed to do the SAN as well.

What does all that mean? Well there was some challenges that I had to overcome to make his work but we got it.

Lesson Learned: The greater the challenge the greater the feeling you get when you know “that just happened.”

Leave a Reply

