A Comparison of IT to an Orchestra

Posted: April 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

I had lunch with a friend of mine today. As we ate we talked about some of the things that we have seen in the past. My buddy was a conductor and I found it fascinating on learning on how that goes together. I mean in my mind there is either a right or wrong way to get on the Orchestra; The right way (I thought) was to sound perfect like everyone else. I was surprised when he told me that each musician has different styles and each of those styles may fit with arrangements better than others. We spent a lot of time talking about this and how they pick what musician get the gig and who is warming up the bench.

Bet after the discussion reached a point, I realized that we in IT are just the same.

  • Conductors pick musicians for their talent and the ability to fit in.
  • IT Managers pick staff for talent and the ability to fit in.
  • Both IT Managers and Conductors know when the team works well together that is when you will see the best results.
  • Both understand that if you have one member that is a show boat or a cowboy it distracts most of the team.
  • It takes a lot more than talent to build a great time….

And that takes me into my second point. Look at the small school from Indiana called Butler, I believe the couch is 33 years old, This man had the ability to take a group of adult men that want to party like they were on spring break at the previous Olympics and turned these men back into the athletes they once were, bring the gold home again. Brad Stevens can take a group of kids and turn them into a team.

So think back to what you are going to do this week, are you going to do something to make yourself look oh so good in front of the VP’s when it hits the fan all around you, or are you going to be the team player and help the other members on your team to reach that single goal. I can tell you when I owned SQL on Call and other companies that I worked with the biggest challenge was communication, lack of emails, calls, conversations. The SQL on Call Team did not know they were not a team; they were a group of people going in as many different directions. If you want to play for a championship team you got to be willing to lift the team rather than yourself.

Comments
  1. Amos K. Ailanjian says:

    Chris,

    Are you the $258 million powerball winner?

Leave a Reply

