HyperGate or Red Bac?

Posted: March 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am really surprised that we have not heard more news about this.

http://www.red-gate.com/about/news/hyperbac.htm

So here is the scoop the way that I understand it. Red Gate a company that is well known for the SQL Tool Belt with products such as SQL Compare also has a really solid backup compression tool. This tool simply called Red Gate SQL Back Up. Red Gate also makes tools for the Exchange and .NET.  The SQL Backup tool they created worked with SQL Server and had its own User Interface. So if you want to use the product your best bet to keep it simple was to use the UI they supply and create your maintenance plans there. I have used the tool for a number of years with a number of my clients and never had any issues with the product. With full disclosure I am a “Friend of Red Gate”.

HyperBac is relatively new company, but if you look closer at the people involved you may see a name like Jeffery Aven. Jeffery is, If remember correctly worked on another backup compression product a number of years ago. So it appears that even though HyperBac may not have been around for the last 15 years, some of the key players have been. I can also tell you that I have had the opportunity to work with the HyperBac tool and Jeffery on a production database as well.

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw that the tool sits between the SQL Server and the disk drives. One of the very pleasant fringe benefits of a tool like this is that it has been designed to work with the native back up extensions. So if you have a complex or simple maintenance plan on your servers and you install HyperBac the result is that after a short configuration of the product there is nothing more to change. You just sit and watch it compress (OK don’t sit around, go to one of the million tasks that you have in the back log). The other feature that I have to admit I did not think I would use a lot, was the ability to connect to the backups, query them and copy data out of them by using SSIS. This came in real handy during a few SQL Injection attacks that I had to recover from.

End Result?

I believe you have two good companies that are coming together and from the sounds of the press release the technical teams may be working together. I can’t wait to see the new products that they come up with to make my job easier. Maybe I need to put my thinking cap on and toss them a few ideas.

Comments
  1. Colin Millerchip says:

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for your positive views on our big news (disclaimer: I’m a product manager at Red Gate). If your thinking cap stimulates some ideas, please do pass them my way!

    Best regards,

    Colin.

  2. […] database. I myself have posted a couple entries on what I keep in my tool box and even looking at backup compression tools as […]

Leave a Reply

