Want to Learn SSAS and Tools with me?

Posted: March 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

I hate to admit it, but I have not kept up with many of the new BI features that are in SQL Server 2008 R2. It’s not so much neglect as it just has not been a requirement and with my schedule I have to take care of the issues that are on my plate. Well now the time has come, beside the obvious that many positions now require you to know BI and the tools that surround it, my job is requiring that as well. Not only do I have to learn how to support it Administrative wise but also how to add new information to the cubes and designs.

After I sat in Kevin Cox’s session about SQL Server 2008 Power Pivot and watching the Donald Farmer Video I am not officially pumped up about it. So I would like to invite you to sharpen your BI Skills and join me along this journey. I welcome input on subject I should look at next to include books, videos, articles, blogs and the such. I will be posting information here on my blog and in my column on SSWUG all about the tools. If you are going to do this with me I welcome your input and hope you help drive me to improving my skills. I will in turn help you where I can.

So where do I start. Well I am lucky that I have the last couple conferences from SSWUG all about BI on DVD. I am going to see what I can find in those sessions. I think my first goal is to learn the difference between different designs and what makes one better than the other. There are some sessions I will pull from and I believe there is some information in the Deep Dives book as well.

Leave a Reply

