Conference Time

Posted: January 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

I am not sure if it is starting to warm up or not. I do know that I am starting to see the signs of summer. One of those signs is the start of the Spring conference season. There is a number of events that can be found but the one most exciting to me is the vConference hosted by SSWUG. They have added a whole .NET track this time around. That means that the Share Point track is a dedicated Share Point track and is not sharing sessions. The one fee will get you into the whole conference rather than trying to pay for each individual session.

There are a number of new speakers this time around along with some returning speakers. Some of the new speakers are:

David Baldauff

Glenn Berry

Denny Cherry

Mike Davis

Jeffery Garbus

Eric Harlan

Adam Jorgensen

Devin Knight

If you sign up now there is an early bird discount rate. With that you also get Live Keynotes, 6 months of SSWUG access and great access to all the vendors. Take a look at it here:

http://www.vconferenceonline.com/shows/spring10/uvc/

 

Other Happenings

 

  • On SSWUG today the first in a number of articles was released about maintaining your database history. This series of articles talks about creating a DBAStats database on your systems and what sort of information that I keep in there. Today in particular I am looking at tracking database growth at the page level. The code will work that is included but the goal is to more to give you an idea of some of the things that you can do with a history database and how you can track that information.
  • I am well on my way of writing the book that I have been working on. This is a process that I did not realize was going to take as long as it does. However readers of this blog will know that grammar is not always my strong suit (to put it nice). So we are taking a bit of time to make sure that book says what I wanted it to.
  • In Feb. I will be speaking at the Denver SQL Server Users Group, This event looks fun and I like the session idea.
  • Also in Feb is the Rocky Mountain Tech Trifecta.
  • I have brought up my web page. I am not sure exactly what this is going to be used for just yet. Currently it’s a list of events that I am either working. If you have any idea let me know. www.sqlshaw.com.

I hope you have a great day, if I have forgotten anything feel free to drop me a note.

Leave a Reply

