A Few Hours in Research

Posted: September 24, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

This week I am looking at compiling some information on database outages. I have been a firsthand witness to more than one outage some of those were to databases that I managed and some were to databases that belong to clients who requested my help in restoring data. All of the outages that come to mind where permanent data loss was involved could have been avoided. Last year I was working with a new client that needed some help with installing a service pack. When I checked his backups I found that he had one full that was run about 4 years prior and t-logs from that day. When I did the math a system restore would have taken over 1300 files. I am glad we caught that before it became a restore.

As I am looking at this data with some help from a developer at SSWUG, I found a number of statistics that that really perked my interest. By the way most of the information I am finding is from a survey done in 2001 called the “Cost of Downtime”. I think that I am going to see what I can do to get a more directed and recent survey done on SSWUG.

  • 60% of companies that lose their data close down within 6 months of the disaster
  • 40% of Small and Medium Sized Businesses don’t back up their data at all
  • 72% of businesses that suffer major data loss disappear within 24 months
  • 60% of all data is held on PC Desktops and laptops
  • One-third of all computers sold are notebooks

Those are some heart stopping numbers is you really start to think about them. Just the first point on the list where 60% of companies that lose their data close doors within 6 months. I am not sure what the difference is between the first and third point and what is considered a major loss and what is not. I hope to find out. I know that a number of reports can mean different things based on the questions. But these figures should really get you thinking. I know it did me.

Comments
  1. Bryan says:

    That first point really goes all out to show the importance of backups. I suppose the percentage doesn’t surprise me, but still, that’s amazing.

    I’d be curious to find out how many businesses suffer data losses too. Also how many of the data loses occur because the primary “DBA” is an accidental one or there isn’t one on hand.

  2. Chris Shaw says:

    Thanks for the question Bryan. I think that is a great question. I am going to add it to my list of questions.

Leave a Reply

