Learn SQL Server

Posted: September 9, 2009 in Uncategorized

I am in the process of putting the finishing touches on the DBA School class that Stephen Wynkoop and I are going to be teaching next week. We have talked a number of times over the last couple weeks on exactly how we want to present the information so that not only are the facts covered but the class is relevant to each person who attends. Stephen had a great idea on the way we can accomplish this exact thing. I anticipate that this is going to help get many if not all the attendees involved in the class on a whole new level.

As I work on the class I have been thinking about how I learned different aspects to SQL Server. The one thought that keeps coming to mind is that each time I would learn something new I would consistently learn the same thing time and time again.

No matter how much I learn there is so much more there that I want to learn.

As I think about this, I can’t help but to think about how much the SQL Server product has expanded over the last 10 years. What started as a database engine has now morphed into so much more with the releases of SSIS, SSRS, and SSAS just to touch base on a few. I was thinking about replication in 6.5 when it was a complex process just to complete the Wizard. I believe the first time I set up replication it took me 3 days to complete the task.

With the release of new features of SQL Server, it requires DBA’s to look at where we want to focus our attention and our time. This may not always be a concise decision as much as it is a business need. I think today I am just thinking about all the new things there are to learn and where the product is going to go from here.

Comments
  1. christi parks says:

    I am not a programmer but I have this SQL subject this session and have to prepare for it. What all topics should be covered in it?
    And has anyone studied from this course http://www.wiziq.com/course/125-comprehensive-introduction-to-sql of SQL tutorial online?? or tell me any other guidance…
    would really appreciate help

    • Chris Shaw says:

      When you say a SQL subject, is it a SQL Server subject, or a subject on the query language?

      Thanks for the comments, I will send you an email, if you would like to go into more detail.

      Chris

Leave a Reply

