Approach to Learning/Teaching

Posted: August 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

Over the last couple of weeks I have been spending a lot of my time getting ready for the fall season of Conferences, Workshops and Classes. As I was working on second edition of the SQL Server 911 Workshop I got stuck. The second in this series was designed to be all about Performance Tuning how to do it, why to do it and all that good stuff. I think the point that I kept getting stuck on is when I was taking a class I would have all this information passed to me but I would not know how to put it all together. I figured that any good performance tuning workshop is going to have to include the following subjects:

  • SQL Server Profiler
  • Performance Monitor
  • Discussions on Indexes
  • Discussion on Query tuning

I needed a way to make it a little easier to sit with an attendee. The more I thought about it I realized that it may just be as much me as what I thought the attendee would see. The process was just not clear to me. I however did find a solution. I am going to take examples of poorly written code/queries and poor designs from the last 10 years and then I am going to re-enact the whole process. Ok without the acting but the examples will be there.

Leave a Reply

