Same Old Problems

Posted: July 1, 2009 in Uncategorized

First of all I would like to send a congrats out to all the new and Renewed MVP’s.

Over the last couple months I have been working on a few consulting jobs and helping out here and there with different projects and companies. I can’t help but notice that I see a number of reoccurring problems. The funny thing is that it first appears as a technical issue, and it ends as a technical issue. But I cannot help but notice over the last 5 years how some problems become magnified just because people are afraid to say, “let’s review my area because I may have missed something”. I use to think this had a lot to do with Empire building. Empire building is something that a person does when he believes his or her responsibilities are not as well rounded as they would like them to be. Today I am not so sure.

For Example:

I worked at a company for a number of years; they decided to implement a SAN as storage. There was a very lengthy process that we went through to move databases from local to SAN storage. One database in particular was of interest, It had a Delphi App that would gather data and then insert into the database every night. When the database was on local storage this process would take about 4 hours if I recall correctly, however when we moved it over to SAN storage the performance degraded.

There was only one change that was made to the system. It was the introduction of the SAN. However, when it came around to it the hardware people, the developer, the network people and the vendors were not willing to approach the situation openly. To be honest I am not sure that I did it as openly as I could have.

 

The answer that I would really like to get down to is why we put a fence around our area of responsibility, if we all have the same goal of correcting a problem. Maybe even a more important question is how do we break down that wall and ask the right questions or take the right approach so that the time spent finger pointing is put to a better use by trying to correct and or fix an issue.

Leave a Reply

