A Few Things I Learned in Richmond

Posted: June 25, 2009 in Uncategorized

For the last couple weeks I have been on the road working on a contract located in Richmond VA. I can tell you that this has been an experience. I have had so much fun. There is a lot to be said for being a contractor. However, I am ready to go home; I miss my family and really need to know what it’s like to sleep in room where kids are not running around screaming their heads off. In the weeks to come and at the upcoming SSWUG Conference, I am going to talk about some of the new things that I have learned. But for now I thought I would share some of the things that I have learned that were outside of SQL Server. I will update this list over the next couple of days if something comes up.

  • Tossing the Chicken – This computer malfunction is one that is unexplainable. Many times these are associated with errors that are very open in nature and really don’t point to a lot.
  • This is the South – The first day that I was here, I figured I was in the east, maybe even as far to say I was in the North East. Being that I am from Colorado and have spent almost my whole adult life on the west coast I know very little about where the lines are drawn. With that being said a very kind waitress in a local restaurant told me that I am indeed in the south, not just the south but the SOUTH. I guess I should have paid more attention to my history.
  • I’ll tell you what – Still working on how to define this. I know when I was in Texas a number of people used this term; I guess it’s sort of a term that you have to use to enforce what you are defining. For some reason I believe that if someone were to use this term, it is very close to when someone in Colorado finish’s a statement with “Honestly”. If I were to use this in a sentence it would have to be something along the lines of: You think he is crazy well I’ll tell ya what. However, being the Cowboy that I am still not sure if I have a grasp on this.
  • Same issues – I did find it odd that even though I was about 1800 miles from home, many of the basic problems that we see in Colorado are shared all around the country.
    • Hardware does not fix all issues
    • Reboots do not correct all issues
    • Issues are solved by gathering info.
  • It’s a dry heat – Welcome to crazy 101. Today it is 86 degrees but it feels like 110 in AZ. I kid you not (another new term I learned). I use to come from the school of if its 86 in Colorado it will feel like the same 86 degrees on the east coast. This is so not true.
  • Not have e-mail sucks – I have never put it together on how much we rely on e-mail. How did we live in the days before e-mail? I have been insane running around town trying to find hot spots just so I can check e-mail at lunch. That is another fun thing to do is look for a hot spot in a city where you have no idea where you are or where you are going.
  • Work is not the most important thing in your life – Well I hope it’s not.

Leave a Reply

