What the News?

Posted: May 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Well it looks like this is not the Tech Ed to miss. I have been watching twitter, reading the SSWUG Newsletter, and chatting with a couple people from Microsoft and well so far this is what I have learned:

What we thought was going to be SQL Server 2010 or SQL Server 2011 code named Kilimanjaro is not going to be exactly what we thought it was, and never really was planned to be. What did I think it was, well I thought it would be a new release of SQL Server, a full version release. But based on the information that I am seeing it looks like it’s going to be more of an add on to SQL Server 2008. Why is this so cool? Well over the last few years I have been getting nervous about the number of SQL Server versions that we are supporting in the field. There is so much to consider when upgrading version. Just one of those items is Third Party software support. I know of some software that companies have purchased that they are not moving forward to SQL Server 2005 yet. Some of these even come across as it will take a while.

So even if we get all our home grown Ap’s set so we can upgrade our systems to SQL Server 2008 the software vendors that are used for accounting, or call routing may leave us trying to managed SQL Server 2000 instances. I am sure there is going to be a lot more coming on this. You can check out the SSWUG newsletter where Stephen Wynkoop talks more about this on www.SSWUG.org.

In other news I just saw that this year the new version of windows will be released. I expected to see it, but now it looks official. I blogged about it a couple weeks ago, but from what I am seeing now there is a big push to get a great, stable OS. I think both of these are great moves on the part of Microsoft. I am curious as to what you think.

Leave a Reply

