It’s a Wrap

Posted: April 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

The last few days have been a blur, Wed. to Fri. I was speaking and working with the SSWUG Conference. I tried to get on my blog here on day 2 and 3 of the conference but by the end of the day I was so tired that I couldn’t think. I can tell you that has got to be the best event that I have ever been involved with. I am still looking at the huge number of surveys that we received and to be honest. It was not a few days before the conference that we decided to do the keynotes live. Many may not understand how big of a jump this was for us. The technology, the people, the questions had to be there. If anything wasn’t just right we would have fallen on our face.

The SSWUG staff is full of professionals that make sure they do everything they can so that everyone can have a great event. It was awesome to see everyone working together to make this just right. I think my favorite part was during the closing session (that was not planned until day 2 I believe). One of the attendees wanted us to prove the session was live. Without hesitation one of the other attendees mentioned that he should ask us a question and allow us to answer. Now most of the time that would not be that big of a deal, but when you are sitting in a room looking at a couple camera’s and being able to talk to people on the other side of the globe it sure did make us feel like we were able to help.

The icing on the cake is when one of the speakers created a Bingo card for the third days keynote. There were items on this card like Mark this spot if you were a DBA, and my favorite was when I would laugh. Thanks Tjay Belt for creating the card and having fun with us. I think we have come a long way since the first conference. Thanks to all the speakers that participated I cannot tell you how much fun it was this go around and I cannot wait until the next one.

Leave a Reply

