User Group Meeting

Posted: March 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

Well, I would first like to say that if you are a reader of this blog, you may have noticed that on occasion (ok more often then that) you will find grammar errors in what I write. When I first started a blog a few years ago about a month or two into it, I get a comment from a reader that was more then happy to point out my mistakes. I got to the point where I took in personal and stopped blogging for a while. I eventually changed my mind and started blogging again because I believe that if I do make a mistake that readers will get have an understanding of what I am trying to say. Either way, I normally write my blog around midnight to 1:00 AM right before I head off to bed. This is when my day is the quietest and I can think about what has occurred during the day. So if I do make a mistake and misspell something, I apologize.

So tonight I went to the Colorado SQL Server user group meeting. This is a group I started a number of years ago and then took some time off, Eric Johnson and Josh Jones took over running the group and I think they have done a great job. At a meeting in Jan. I believe they mentioned they would like some additional help. I thought this would be a great way for me to get back connected to the group, at the same time Eric and Josh can continue to push the group in a direction where they think it should go. I think these guys are doing a great job.

So with that being said, I am back and for my first meeting back on the Job we had a great presentation lead by Steve Jones. I have known Steve for a number of years, how many to be exact I am not sure. Either way the topic tonight was Building Your Resume. I did a topic a number of years ago a little along the same lines. The big difference was that the technology has changed a lot since then. I spoke on how to get your resume built up with the tools we had then. Now it’s a whole different game. There are blog’s, Twitter, Face Book, just to name a few.

Now as I sat through this presentation I was thinking back to a book that I am reading, and it talks about using these sites as a way to build either your own public profile or your company’s profile. What I really enjoyed is that both the presentation and the book make one thing very, very clear. It boils down to this:

You already have an online resume, the question is: Are you going to be an author of it.

Almost everyone I know that works with SQL Server has some on-line presence, and most companies do at this point. So the question is are you making sure that you are getting the information out there that you want to. As I write this I know there is another SQL Server Professional that lives in another country with the same name as me. So do people confuse us? Not that I am aware of. I have seen some of his stuff and I like what I have seen, but what if I didn’t? I would need to make sure that I make a name for myself.

The end result is that someone is going to Google you next time you look for a job, are you in control of what they see? Or do they see what others may have said and done. Do you twitter too much? Or did you start a blog and stop? What does your on-line activity say about you? If someone Google’s you, do you want them to see a hockey player that pops up that has the same name, or maybe even an artist that takes photos that some may consider questionable?

It was great to see friends tonight old and new, I am excited to be involved with the group again and if you have time it would be great to see you at a meeting.

Leave a Reply

