Follow up to Past Post

Posted: January 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

Well I told everyone about how the customer treated me and have had a ton of feedback. First of all I would like to thank everyone who commented. Some people had suggested a long term payment plan for the client. I would have considered that if the Dec. invoice was not larger then the Nov. invoice. And I was just calling about the Nov. Invoice.

As of Thursday the client wanted to set up a call with me so I could walk them through what they should do if there was a cluster failover. This was after I was told that I am the low priority to get paid. I let them know that I would be happy to go through the steps with them on what to check after a  failover. However at the time we really needed to settle the payment issue. I asked if they could send me the check numbers and assure me that the check was in the mail and I received no response.

This morning I sent the client an e-mail and called them letting them know I would help with the transition away from SQL on Call and I would be happy to answer any questions as soon as we have the payment information. I also requested the payment information.

Well as you may have guessed. They did not answer any IM’s (I figure I am blocked now). They did not answer any phone calls, and they have not returned the emails. I am really surprised by this, seeing how this company wanted me to watch there system the weekend before Christmas. When I refer to watch I don’t mean be on call, I mean sit there all weekend and watch the performance monitor. From calls in the middle of the night to times when they would call 10 times in a row cycling though my contact numbers I think I have learned my lesson. I would like to share with you what I think I have learned.

  1. Have your work hours set. Yes there should be times when a client can call you outside work hours for emergencies however if the database is not down I believe you should go back and spend time with you family. I know that is what my wife wanted me to do.
  2. Never give out more then your office number and your cell number. This way if you are on vacation, you are on vacation. Have someone cover like I did and turn your phone off, I did not. I actually have 2 cell numbers and I released both to them. But from now on, one goes on me on vacation and the other is left with who is covering me while I am gone or at home. The only one that knows the personal number is my staff and they know when to get hold of me.
  3. I am so glad that I have an attorney. One of the smartest things I ever did.
  4. If you have not noticed, this has been a testament of what happened, I did not release the name of the company and I have no intention of doing so. I hope the next people that work with them develop better boundaries then I did.

I did like the suggestion of billing weekly, or even setting up a min. monthly retainer that needs to be paid before the work begins. I have a client that works like that and he is in the collection business. So I have a good idea what steps are coming up next. Thanks again everyone and I hope you have a great weekend.

Comments
  1. Based on what you have shared, it sounds like you have gone above and beyond what is necessary. Unfortunately it is sounding like you are going to have to chalk this one up as a learning experience.

    I appreciate your sharing this experience so we can learn from it as well. Wisdom is being able to learn from the experience of others.

  2. Ryan says:

    I too am experiencing a similar issue. Would like to say thank you for sharing your experience, has done a great deal for me.

Leave a Reply

