Merry Christmas

Posted: December 28, 2008 in Uncategorized

So every year the wife and I instead of buying a gift for each other we buy something for the house. Sometimes a table, or a TV or something along those lines, his year it got me to thinking… See this year we bought an x-box; it seems that my wife feels I spend too much time on the computer, surprise. I did not think of it much at the time. I figured I would get a poker game, a race game and a few others, and I did. My son has this game called guitar hero. I have played with his game on his x-box on occasion but I never really gave it much though.

OK so first of all I want to say I am not sure this is a great gift. Since I have hooked it up I have stopped everything except checking e-mail (I can only go so far). I have not re-done the basement into a work out facility like I planned, I have not taken the tree down, and heck I have not even put all my new gifts that others gave me away yet. That stupid box has me sitting in front of the TV 14 hours a day. It’s insane. But this afternoon I just put it together…

See its one of those new black ones; I have no idea what it is called. If you don’t stop and ask ay teenager what the new black one is. Anyway, I started to watch the stats on the x-box and all I see is numbers. Wait, all I do at work is data… mostly numbers. I started to think about it and I wonder how they do this. Then I was shown how I can do something called live, and I refuse to do that so that 14 hours does not turn into 24 hours. But as I look at this there must be an OS, and with all the data that is there it has to have a database behind it somewhere. It got me thinking; many times I have a hard time explaining what I do. Mostly to people that are in the older generation. Some even read and watch the presentations I do. But here is a great example of what we do for a living. There is a database there that MS has put together and it sits behind the games. This keeps track of all sorts of stuff. The OS on that system runs great from what I have seen so far. Are we looking at the future of PC’s? I don’t know just thinking out loud today.

Leave a Reply

