Short Update today

Posted: December 12, 2008 in Uncategorized

Well my trip last week was to film a webcast that will be released today on SSWUG. The web cast was a Quick overview of some of the things that will Zap you hardware from the SQL Server side. I think there is some good info in there so if you are at all interested you may want to head over to SSWUG and take a quick look. If I remember correctly it’s just over a half an hour.

I also had an article put out there on SSWUG today, it was a book review that I had done for a couple of friends of mine. The book is named A Developers Guide to Data Modeling for SQL Server. I am really proud of Eric and Josh the authors of this book. I think there is a need for this book in the industry and even more so now with the economy. So many people are being asked to do multiple rows. And when the design of the database is not done as well as it could be the only way to fix it and avoid performance problems is to redesign it. It’s that old, do it right the first time thing.

Steve Wynkoop was mentioning today that now is a great time to make sure you are ready for the upcoming holidays. His editorial mentioned doing some test restores, making sure you know where your backups are. I cannot tell you how many times I have had one or another holiday ruined by some crisis. I was just glad we were ready to handle them when they came down the pipe.

Leave a Reply

