New Web Cast Coming Up

Posted: December 3, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

For years I have been looking at some of the features of SQL Server and I can completely understand why they are there, but when I look closer at what happens with some of these options I know that some people are not going to use them. There are databases that have Auto Shrink enabled. Why… they don’t want the size if the .mdf and .ldf to get out of control when they are in a high transaction but low data retention (Long Term) Environment. There are specific times when these features should and can be used. But Many times when they are used, it’s not for the right reasons.

I have the opportunity this week to record a webcast to talk about issues just like this one. Issues like Auto Grow, Auto Shrink what can kill your capacity and how to get a handle on these. I am pretty excited about this webcast and I look forward to talking about these issues. If you think you might want to take a look at the webcast you can sign up for it here. The webcast will be aired on Dec. 11, 2008 PST. It will be free for registered guests and members of SSWUG. I look forward to virtually seeing you there.

One last thought for today… Even though 95% of my blog is based on SQL Server I am considering doing my own review of the new James Bond movie tomorrow/tonight. There will be some slight spoilers in it if I post it, I am a huge James Bond Movie fan and just figured I may post a review and see if other people that have seen it think the same thing about it.

Leave a Reply

