Another Great Meeting

Posted: October 8, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Have you ever had one of those days? You know the one where you are working on an issue that you just are not sure what the answer is, or you do know the answer but you feel like you are the only person in the world that is having that issue. It’s easy to get in that mode when you work with technology today. I use to find it even more difficult when I am the single point on a DBA team. I think the first 5 years of my career I was the only DBA on the DBA team. I would run into some odd error and I would run to the internet and look to see if I could find something on it. There were times when I would find nothing, I know that is hard to believe but you have to remember this is 10 years ago.

The big change for me was when I started to attend conferences. The ability to speak to the speakers and even the other attendees was awesome. There were many people out there that could lend a hand. When I was chatting I did not feel as intimidated as I did when I would post something to a news group. In yesteryear, if you posted something to a newsgroup you ran the risk of getting flamed and tortured on why could you not find the answer on your own. Sometimes they were simple mistakes other times I just could not find the answer. When the conferences would help it was only once every year at that point. Now I have many I can go to. In place I would end up going to a User Group meeting. It was a great place for me to visit and make contacts not only for technical help but also for job leads, and new topics.

Well last night I had a chance to sit down with a partner and start discussing some of the issues we see every day. It got me thinking on how great it is to have the chance to network.

Comments
  1. Hear hear! Can’t wait till my next conference.

    A timely post about networking:
    http://www.communitechblog.ca/?p=188

Leave a Reply

