Silverlight and Tim Heuer

Posted: September 6, 2008 in Uncategorized

I recently interviewed a number of the speakers that will be speaking at the SSWUG conferences. I am going to post many of these but I thought you might like to see what Tim Heuer had to say. First let me tell you a little more about Tim.

Tim Heuer is a program manager for Microsoft Silverlight. He helps build the worldwide Silverlight community and is very passionate about the platform and technology in general. Having over 13 years of experience with Microsoft web technologies, Tim is excited about the opportunities that Silverlight brings for developers and designers and wants to ensure that everyone has the best information and tools available to them for success. Tim will be speaking at the .NET event in October. His blog can also be found here. I found a lot of interesting items on his blog.

When I interviewed the speakers I tried to get not only personal but technology opinions as well. I hope that you enjoy. If you would like to hear and see Tim talk about his passions don’t forget to take a look at the .NET event in October.

CS – Many technology people do many jobs, for example:  I know SQL Server DBA’s that also work with SharePoint.  What is the technology that you prefer and why?

TH – I’m obviously passionate about Silverlight, but really get excited about really anything that allows me to extend it.  I’m a developer so when products come out with the ability for me to personalize them for my use (Live Writer, IE8, Office), I try to find ways to improve my own productivity and give back to the community as well.

CS – If you were not doing anything with technology what would you be doing, what is your dream job?

TH – Owning a SCUBA dive operation in Cancun, Mexico.  I tried to buy it a few years back, but the owner wouldn’t sell.  I hope someday to spend every day at least 30 meters under water!

CS – Describe your worst day on the Job.

My worst days are not getting along with co-workers.  I love what I do, so it is hard to really have a worse day…most are just busy and stressful, and usually because of my own doing.

CS – Where do you see yourself going from here, or what do you think you will be doing 5 years from now.

TH – .  Honestly though, I like what I’m doing.  I aspire to be more right now of course, and would like to be in a position driving platform direction more.

CS – How did you get started along this career path?

TH – Self-taught.  Degree in Criminal Justice, but weeks before my final oral board review with my local police department I realized that doing data entry paid more…and it grew from there.  My father was a computer programmer so I’ve always been hacking.

CS – What do you feel has been the biggest accomplishment in your career?

TH – Biggest is hard to define.  Joining Microsoft was my stated goal for a long time since I got involved in software development.  So I suppose after 11 years of doing development, joining Microsoft was a huge career accomplishment for me…and I haven’t regretted it at all.

CS – What are you most excited about with the next release or most recent release of the software that you are working with.

TH – I’m excited to see the excitement around Silverlight.  I couldn’t point to one feature, but rather to the new ecosystem that it is creating for developers.

CS – Do you have a hobby?  If so what is it?

TH – Golf, SCUBA and lately digital photography.

CS – If you were to be born in any year, what year would it be and why? (I love to ask this question, I think we can really get to know more about someone by the answer.)

TH – 1953.  I think being a teenager when we landed on the Moon would have been a remarkable feeling of inspiration and a proud moment for America.

Leave a Reply

