SQL 2008 Here I come

Posted: August 25, 2008 in SQL Server 2008
Tags: ,

I have loaded SQL Server 2008 CTP on my laptop a few times now. I used it for presentations during the June SSWUG SQL Conference. I even put the RTM on my Vista machine and had not a single issue. Yesterday around 4:00 PM I ran started to put the same install on my laptop to prepare for my sessions for the Oct SSWUG Conference and I ran into an issue. For some reason I was getting a .Net Framework 2.0a error. After reading a few blogs and MSDN articles I was not better off. I tried to repair my .NET Framework. Heck I even tried to install sp1 to it just to see if that would fly and I was stuck.

You know my last post I spent an hour writing about how we tell people that it is ok to reboot their machine. Well this is a lot along the same lines. After working on it until 2AM this morning I went to bed. I repositioned my mind in a happy place this morning and decided that it was time to build from the ground up. I removed all the .Net Framework installs and reboot my system then proceeded with this process.

  • Installed .Net Framework 2.0
  • Reboot
  • Installed .Net Framework 2.0 sp1
  • Reboot
  • Installed .Net Framework 3.0
  • Reboot
  • Installed .Net Framework 3.5
  • Reboot
  • The fired away with my SQL Server 2008 Standard Edition.

So hear I am 24 hours later and I am up and running on SQL Server 2008 on my laptop running Windows XP Pro. I hope you want to read a lot more about SQL Server 2008 because I am starting to write my presentations now.

Leave a Reply

