SQL Server 2005 Upgrade Issues?

Posted: July 22, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Well I am happy to say that I just returned from a vacation and found that I was extremely happy with the way that SQL on Call was doing when I returned. I have to say that this was a pleasant surprise to see that the company does not need me and it’s doing just what it was designed to do.

The item that I wanted to blog about today is that I have a couple of customers that are upgrading from SQL Server 2000 to SQL Server 2005. In that past when we have done this we kept a real close eye on the performance numbers because that was very important to our clients. One thing that I have noticed over a couple of these migrations that I have done; was the fact that our clients who had dynamic SQL built into web front ends were running worse on SQL Server 2005. I was curious if any one else has seen this. Once we were able to get the high cost queries into stored procedures, the problem was removed. I would expect this performance behavior moving from dynamic SQL to stored procedures. But I am not sure why I am seeing the same code run a little slower on 2005. Just thought I would throw that out there and see if anyone else has seen this issue.

Comments
  1. prasad says:

    I think this related to compilation and preparation of execution plan which is taking time and causing problem.

Leave a Reply

