I got Called Out

Posted: July 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

So this set of questions has been going around the internet and it looks like I got called out by Jason Massie.  I figured it looked like a little bit of fun so I gave it a shot.

How old were you when you first started programming?

I was 10 I think. I started with that TI that used a recorder to save your programs. I went from that to a KayPro II. Its been so long I don’t recall using it.

How did you get started in programming?

My first was in the Marine Corps. I work in the accounting office where they had to figure out pay and such, we had to do so much by hand that it took forever.

What was your first language?

Lotus Ami Pro, I know its not a language but that was the first program I was paid to program in.

What was the first real program you wrote?

An advanced pay calc. system.

What languages have you used since you started programming?

Basic
TSQL
VBA
HTML (no I was not any good at it)

What was your first professional programming gig?

True Yellow pages and online yellow page directory with a friend Jim Paine

If you knew then what you know now, would you have started programming?

Oh even more so.

If there is one thing you learned along the way that you would tell new developers, what would it be?

Learn as much as you can and study hard, if your not working or eating you should be learning, oh and collage did not give me anything that I could use in the “real world”

What’s the most fun you’ve ever had … programming?

Speaking at conferences, unless that does not count. Then I would say when I was working SQL Server 6.5 trying to figure out how to use Lat and Long to see how far someone was from a location that they searched for in the yellow pages.

Who are you calling out?

Steve Wynkoop

Paul Nielson

Leave a Reply

