Green meets SQL Server

Posted: July 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

So with all this talk in the news lately about what is Green and what is not Green. I figured I would add my buck oh five. First I would like to let you know that Green really just means that it is environment friendly. I am sure some where has a much better explanation, but the end result is that Green means that it’s easier on the environment. I think that as we look into what is Green and what is not Green we should consider what is easy on the pocket book as well. I think if we look at something as being Green for it to be an effective solution it should also fulfill the same needs as a non-Green item.

Where does this fit in with SQL Server, well there is a Green conference where people can get the same knowledge without having to attend an in person conference. That means that you are saving on the air cost, hotel stay, food, and well I could go on and on.

There is a great website that was not set up to long ago about how a Green Virtual Conference saved the attendees over 2.5 million dollars. Now that is a lot of money. I know when I go to a conference and I am paying for it out of my pocket I can plan on spending close to 5k just to go. So if each attendee can keep that much in their pocket but come away with the same knowledge then I say why not. To find this Green page and see how they are trying to make this world a better place please visit:

http://greenevents.ning.com/

Become a member and post your comments. I know that everyone involved want to know how they can make it better.

Leave a Reply

