What is a DBA?

Posted: July 1, 2008 in Uncategorized

Recently my Grandmother in law asked what a DBA was. I just did not know how to explain it without going way into deep. I didn’t want to put her to sleep so I thought it would be best if I just tried to make it as simple as I good.

Here is what I came up with. A DBA is the person that manages all the data behind a website, this also means that there are other applications to databases other then websites, but it was easiest for someone who does not completely understand. I explained to her that I was the person who was responsible that the data is there when it needs to be there.

Kudos for Grandma, her next question was what happens if it isn’t. I replied to her that a DBA that can not keep information online or recover information is in serious risk of losing their job. I explained to her that we take back ups and that we organize the data so that it is faster to access that data.

I just thought I would take a moment to reflect the way that most people in the country think about what we do. The end result is they don’t, many don’t even know who we are. What they do know is when they use an application that your database serves information to that it is working, its slow, or its down.

Leave a Reply

