Linked in Networking

Posted: April 7, 2008 in Uncategorized

Are you using Linked in to network? If so I think this is a great tool, the question that I have is what else we can use this tool for. There seams to be a lot of groups that are starting up and I just have not got the complete feel for how we can leverage the group. I have become a member of a number of groups on there and the one that I find the most useful is Linkedin DBA. They have up a nice blog and it appears that the membership is growing. If you use the linked in groups with SQL Server I am curious on how you use this tool. If you expand beyond linked in and look at Pulse and Konnects do you see the same activity? I see linked in as a great way to keep up to date with people I know, and people that I have lost track of. I have reconnected with a lot of friends that I have not seen in a while.

Comments
  1. I have found LinkedIN to be of value in several areas. Like you, I have been able to re-connect with folks that I haven’t spoken with in years. I’ve also recieved some good job leads and it is, in part, a good way to build credibility of ones’ self to others through recommendations.

    I’ve had a few requests to join Pulse; but as of yet, I see little value for me personally. I think that LinkedIN does a good job facilitating the networking component from a professional level and if one want’s to take that to a more personal level then sites like Pulse and facebook appear to be great options.

Leave a Reply

