Database Questions

Posted: March 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

I saw an interesting post today on linked in. Someone had asked “what was the way to best design a table so that it was easy on the CPU”. I guess what I thought was odd about it was why did the mention CPU. Are they looking for something that will improve the SQL Server Performance, by making the queries faster? Were they looking at the Performance Monitor and checking to noticing that there was a lot of CPU being used.

The reason that I mention this is that I find that there are a lot of questions that I find on linked in or other news groups that when there is not enough information people are leaving themselves open for questions and not getting the answers that they need. A big challenge that I face everyday is talking to people that have a little understanding on what they need but not a complete understanding of what the problem is so they take a shot at it.

Leave a Reply

