Can’t Go to the PASS Summit?

Posted: October 2, 2013 in Career, Events, SQLServerPedia Syndication

I am sure you have heard how important it is to head over to the PASS Summit, I can’t tell you how many lists that I have seen when it comes to the event there are so many things to do and ways to learn. There are events before and after. There are things to do at night, and in the morning. There so many ways to learn, network and even relax and have fun. I have even posted a few lists myself, and with a quick Bing search I am sure you will find some yourself. Here are a few links to get you started, and if you are a first time attendee I cannot recommend enough that you do a bit of reading before you head off to the event, if you do I can promise your investment will pay off.

First Time http://chrisshaw.wordpress.com/2011/09/23/before-the-pass-summit/

Tips – http://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertip/3070/pass-summit-2013-tips-for-the-trip/

What to Expect – http://sqlblog.com/blogs/rick_heiges/archive/2013/09/26/what-to-expect-at-the-pass-summit-2013.aspx

Check out what others are saying here – http://www.sqlpass.org/summit/2013/Connect/CommunityBlogs.aspx

Now with that being said, most of these require you to be at the summit, but what happens if you can’t. This year I was planning on attending my son’s 21st birthday party. When that went from a party into my son looking at me and saying that all he wanted to do was play some cards with his Dad (that’s me) in Vegas… Well how could I miss that? Then there was this whole thing about starting a new job and worried about taking time off all this around my yearly migration to anywhere away from snow. No matter what I did it looked like I was going to miss the PASS Summit this year.

If you are in a situation like I was, then don’t fret. There is still an option that will allow you to participate. How you may ask… It is called PASStv. I did a session for it last year, and I can tell you that it is a ton of fun. During the normal conference day there will be a live feed where you can attend sessions, watch interviews and participate in the PASS Summit. Worried about SWAG, well they have some contests as well. Are you thinking this will look like another webinar? Not the case, this is a video feed that is live (Last year you could see all the guys wearing Kilts to support WIT, and we are doing it again this year). Don’t miss out, just because you can’t be there in person. Where do you find this live feed?

Start here on Oct. 15th

http://www.sqlpass.org/summit/2013/Home.aspx

So this is where it gets even more exciting for me. Things have started to settle, the trip to Vegas has been moved, work here at Xtivia supports me, and the move that I thought I was going to be doing this fall had to be canceled. In addition it looks like I will get to work with the PASStv staff to help bring the summit to you. I am going to help with interviews, and showing you the viewer all that the PASS Summit has to offer. PASStv has even reassured me that they have a camera filter that will allow for me to be on the live feed without breaking camera’s and monitors. Here is a press release issued by Xtivia about the event.

If you have a question about the event, or even during the event tweet me @SQLShaw. If you give me a little time, I might even be able to track down your favorite speaker and ask them a question or two just for you.

If you are going to be at the summit in a couple weeks, I can’t wait to see you. If you can’t make it, I hope you check out PASStv.

Comments
  1. Dan Sorensen says:

    Thanks for the info! I enjoyed your session at SQL Saturday #190 and am looking forward to catching some more sessions. This is useful information as I won’t be able to attend.

  2. Chris Yates says:

    You wrote this for me didn’t you….looking forward to checking out the passtv. Safe travels and I hope your son has a good 21st.

  3. […] Can’t Go to the PASS Summit? – Chris Shaw(Blog) […]

Leave a Reply

