Why do a Security Audits

Posted: February 27, 2013 in Database Security, Events, SQLServerPedia Syndication

A couple quick notes…

I found some interesting statistics on data loss and did a short post on why these simple numbers enforce the need to complete regular Security Audits on your databases. Based on the numbers I found, completing a security audit and making appropriate changes a company can limit its risk by nearly 50%, just by following best practices internally to your organization. I hope you find it of interest, you can find the full post here on Xtivia’s blog.

My first presentation at the PASS Summit somewhere around 8 years ago was all about how to hire a DBA and how to be hired as a DBA. It was received really well and I was really amazed by the feedback. This past November in Seattle at the PASS Summit I was presented an opportunity to present on some interviewing tips. I am excited to say that on March 13th, I will be presenting this for the PASS Professional Development Virtual Chapter. The great thing about these chapter meetings is that you don’t have to leave the office or your home to attend the event, because it is all on line and it is free to attend. If you would like more information or would like to attend, you can do that here. I hope to see you there.

Leave a Reply

