Quick Tip

Posted: January 28, 2013 in dbUtilities, Product Review, SQLServerPedia Syndication

I was poking around today on a new tool that I have been using, Remote Desktop Manager by Devolutions. (I posted a blog about it a few months back if you are interested in seeing it.)

My Issue

I have this one server that process information and it has a critical role in the success of the company. If the database is not performing well and data is not processing as fast as it should be, there are some SLA’s with customers that might not be achieved. In normal day to day business I rely on a stored procedure that I execute in my dbutilities database, the procedure gets the status, records it and then evaluates if I need to be notified. There are times however, I am notified that something may not be moving as fast as it could and I should check on it. My reaction is to connect to the server, and run my procedure that checks on the status. With time being a critical component of this, I have found that if I was not already connected that my response is delayed due to creating a connection.

My Solution

There are a number of things that I could do to make this a quick and easy check on my server. SQL Server wise all I am doing is calling a procedure. So I could use many tools to complete the task at hand. However, I spend more of my day going from server to server and I am already working in the Remote Desktop Manager. So I thought it would be really cool if I had a link there that would give me the shortcut to the information I was looking for. I was surprised at how much of a shortcut this turned out to be.

First I created a new session. Under the “Other” section I found a Data Report link. I figured I would give it a shot.

In this screen shot case, you will notice a couple things. In the query section for security reasons I have created a very generic stored procedure in my test database that looks like this:

USE
MSDB

GO

 

Create
Procedure
EnabledJobs

AS

    Select
Name
from
sysjobs_view

    Where
enabled
= 1

 

I will call that stored procedure as an example.

Once I had selected the Data Report a new box appeared with all the info I needed to make my connection. I named the session, created a new group for it to reside and even changed the default image so I could tell that this was a report that I used on-demand not for my day to day checks. The server connection dialog box is the standard connection sting information that you may have seen many times before, In the Query section I added the execution of the stored procedure, in the case of the example it is called EnabledJobs.

The finished output?

 

I now have a new session in my tree, in a folder that I created. Each time I start the session, the window displays the results of the query. In this case it took me less than a second to connect to the server, run the stored procedure and get the results I needed. Meaning that in the original case that I started with, I either know I have an issue I need to work on, or I know my servers are fine, and I can continue on with my day.

Like I mentioned before in the last post on this tool, there is a lot more that I am not using, if you spend your day going from one server to the next, you might want to give it a try. I have been surprised so far on how I have been able to use it to make my life all that much easier.

Comments
  1. […] a lot of features that I never thought I would use. (Here is a review I did on the product, and a quick tip on using the data grid to get a quick report) Today a year or so later, I am still only using a few features of the tool, however my most recent […]

  2. […] Hi everyone! You may recall that Microsoft MVP Chris Shaw has been working with RDM for the past year, and occasionally blogs at http://chrisshaw.wordpress.com about his experiences and insights. For example, in his last post, Chris highlighted a cool RDM tip that lets him easily monitor his servers. You can find it here: http://chrisshaw.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/quick-tip/ […]

Leave a Reply

