The New Book

Posted: October 18, 2012 in dbUtilities, SQLServerPedia Syndication

A number of months ago Oracle Ace Kellyn Pot’Vin (T|B) had talked with me about being an Author to an upcoming book about SQL Server Best Practices. After a number of discussions with the editors, and a lot of deliberation on my part on what I should write about I joined the team of authors. I got to tell you that this is a great team of Authors and I honored to be even mentioned in the same discussions as them. Here is the list that I pulled from the Apress site. Bradley Ball , TJay Belt , Glenn Berry , Jes Borland , Carlos Bossy , Louis Davidson , Ben DeBow , Grant Fritchey , Jonathan Gardner , Jeremy Lowell , Jesper Johansen , Wendy Pastrick , Kellyn Pot’vin , Mladen Prajdić , Herve Roggero , Gail Shaw , Jason Strate and then there is me… Chris Shaw.

One of the biggest challenges for me to committing to work on a book is the amount of time that it takes to complete the task. There are a number of authors who can write complete books, and continue with other commitments and still do a great job. For me, I think it is difficult to make sure that the information I am trying to pass along is clear and easy to read. I end up re-writing so many parts of it that I think it takes me much longer than other authors. This is why a book like this is so attractive to me; I get the opportunity to work on one chapter that is focused on something I am passionate about without the stress of many more chapters after that to complete is not looming over me.

So I am proud to announce that the Pro SQL Server 2012 Practices book is complete. If you have pre-ordered it I image it will not be long before you get your copy sent over to you. The book is described as:

“Expert SQL Server Practices 2012 Edition is an anthology of high-end wisdom from a group of accomplished database administrators and developers who are quietly but relentlessly pushing the performance and feature envelope of Microsoft SQL Server 2012.”

I hope you like it, and I look forward to hearing your comments about it. If you haven’t ordered it yet, I think you can do so on Amazon here. If you like this style of book with many Authors working on topics they are passionate about, I also worked on the SQL Server MVP Deep Dive Vol. 2 book. All the profits of the Deep Dives book are donated to Operation Smile.


 

Comments
  1. Chris Yates says:

    Pre-ordered and waiting on it’s arrival! Congratulations again!

    I was able to get the Deep Dive book as well and it has a lot of great info on it. A lot of great authors on both of these collaborative efforts.

    Awesome you guys take the time to put together pieces like this.

Leave a Reply

