My Love Hate with Facebook #meme15

Posted: March 15, 2012 in SQLServerPedia Syndication

So, do you understand this whole #meme15 thing?  If not, here is the once over.  It’s a way for people to post entries on our blogs that all have one subject matter.  Most of the time it is a question, and we are posting our answers.  Other times is it just a group of people posting opinions about one topic or another.  Fellow SQL Server MVP Jason Strate (B|T) is the host of #meme15, and if I understand it correctly, most of the topics free us from the confines of the technical side of SQL Server and ask us to share opinions on other relevant topics.  This month’s question is all about social networking and how we use Facebook to help us balance our life.  I have been tossing this question around in my mind for a number of days.  To be honest I have been pretty much absent from Facebook for the last few months.

 When I started to use Facebook I really didn’t have any goals, I didn’t even think it was going to be around as long as it has been.  I am not sure why I joined it, but at first I was really glad I did.  I found it to be a great place to find old school mates and keep in touch with a number of professional friends.  Within a short period of time I was playing the random assortment of stupid games and entertaining myself. So my “friends” were really grouped into 4 categories:

  • People I talk SQL Server stuff
  • People I went to school with
  • Family
  • People that I meet while playing games

I never thought to organize my friends list, and I never thought of trying to keep my personal life separate from my professional life.  But as I have started to think about it, I am not sure I have much of a personal life.  I would say that 95% of my friends are people that I know from SQL Server activities.  Sure I have a couple people that I know from school that mean a lot to me, but SQL Server is where I spend so much of my time.  So much to the point where the more I think about it I think that my #SQLFamily is where my personal life is.  So, how do I balance?

Well if you look at my Facebook page, it should not take you long to see that my passion is all about Camping and SQL Server.  My closest friends are on the campground, to the point they are my family.  My balance comes from spending the time in my camper and at my second home.  Here before too long it will be my first home. 

I do find myself networking so much more at the events that I attend and I spend about 20 minutes a day on Twitter.  So to answer the question, I am not sure I use Facebook at all for balance.  If I want to network, I use LinkedIn; if I want to socialize I use in person events.  Twitter is used to keep up with most of my friends around the county. 

This post however, is to really lead into my next one. I have been debating talking about my #SQLFamily for months, and I think I have a few examples as to why I can now share how much it means to me.  

 

Comments
  1. [...] My Love Hate with Facebook #meme15 – Chris Shaw (Blog | @sqlshaw) – When Chris was considering this question, he came to find out that most of his personal life is quite intermingled with the #sqlfamily.  Let’s be honest, that’s getting more and more common these days. [...]

Leave a Reply

