2011 SQL PASS Wrap up

Posted: October 16, 2011 in Events, SQLServerPedia Syndication

So do you want to know what the largest SQL Server Event in the world looks like? From just an hour of looking at photos I grabbed a few of them that Pat Wright took. These images show what an awesome event that the SQL Server PASS Summit is. It always surprises me at how many new friends I make each year. This year a few people even had some really kind words for me. The experience was just awesome. Pass did a great job of helping first timers start networking, and showing them how to get the most from PASS.

If you have been reading my blog you may remember a post abut SQL Give, I am really excited to tell you that we had a number of items that we were able to donate to the local shelter, we even had some backpacks to top it off. One of the images below will show just how much. Next year I hope that we can get even more.

The SQL Server MVP Deep Dives Vol. 2 book made its debut at the PASS Summit as well, I wrote chapter 3 in the book and I cannot tell you how honored I am on so many levels to be part of this book. First and foremost the book is for Operation Smile. To top off the fact that the profits go to charity, to be considered to write with the other authors is very humbling. If you would like a copy of the book you can order it here.

On Thursday many of the Pass attendees gathered at my favorite place to eat, called Elliot’s Oyster Bar. The crab legs from there are just awesome, I have never had better.

So, I really had a great time, I learned a lot and I hope next year is going to even be better.

Photograph by Pat Wright

Photograph by Pat Wright

Photograph by Pat Wright

Photograph by Pat Wright

Photograph by Pat Wright

Photograph by Kendal Van Dyke

Photograph by Jason Horner

Comments
  1. Jerry Hung says:

    You meant “2011″ SQL PASS right? :)

    Wish I was there, hopefully for 2012 in Seattle before 2013 in N.C.

  2. Dinner @ Elliot’s was awesome!

Leave a Reply

