Uninstalling SQL Server 2008 on a Cluster

Posted: April 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

There have been more times then I care to admit where I have been trying to do something and while I was doing that task I did not understand what it was asking for. Many of these times I find myself asking for a detailed step by step check list. The problem with the detailed checklists are that they don’t always cover your situation.

This week I found myself installing a new SQL Server Cluster and I kept coming across error after error. It appears that I have somehow managed to install SQL Server without the name of the SQL Server cluster being assigned to it. This left me in a spot where I wanted to uninstall the product but, when I tried to remove SQL Server it would not do so and just repeating back to me with an error telling me that the Instance name of ” was already in use. Since this wasn’t a valid name all my efforts to remove it were in vain.

This is where the checklist aspect comes in, After we had the servers rebuilt I was able to find a great step by step article. There have been a number of changes made with the install of SQL Server on a cluster, Using a step by step like this helps you understand the changes, this excellent one that I am referring to was written by Edwin Sarmiento.

http://www.mssqltips.com/tip.asp?tip=1687

Now if I could find a checklist on how to manually remove SQL Server 2008 without using the Add/Remove Programs I would be all set.

Comments
  1. Adam says:

    Hi Chris,

    Are you able to find a checklist for uninstalling sql server clustered instance manually? Can you please share it if you have one?

  2. maxsql says:

    I did the uninstall following

    http://www.mssqltips.com/sqlservertip/2172/uninstalling-a-sql-server-clustered-instance/

    …which ran smooth and completely.

    The gest of the steps from there is ” node by node and ACTIVE NODE last”. ( remove node action in the SETUP under maintainance).

    The user database files would be still in the place where they were before the uninstallation.

Leave a Reply

