Archive for February 26, 2009

Conference Status

Posted: February 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

There is so much going on over the last couple months I am starting to wonder myself it I get any sleep. For those of us who know Denver I finally went out and got the Fast Trac or what ever they call it. So I thought I would post and catch everyone up on the conferences that are happening. There are a lot of events as well and I will try to put them up here as I hear about them. So here we go:

I got my SSWUG v-conf discount, if you use this code (SPCSHAW09) when you sign up it will give you $10.00 off. On top of that there is an early bird discount, so if you go in and sign up you will be the best rate. To give you more information about the conference it looks like there will be over 40 speakers and over 120 sessions, The really cool thing that we added this time, or I think it is cool is the SQL 100 track. So if you are just picking up SQL Server or if you want to brush up on a new feature that you have not really played with yet then its there at no additional cost. This is going to be on each of the conferences.

Last weekend I did the Rocky Mountain Tri-Fecta that was pretty awesome event, this event was hosted by a number of user groups in the Colorado area. It was really neat that in my session that I delivered I met a gentleman that attended the SSWUG V-Conf and he talked about how much he liked it. Its not often that speakers get a lot of good feed back on how they did, so it was great talking to someone who attended and enjoyed the sessions that he went to.

In 2 weeks I think I will be heading down to Tucson AZ so that I can film a few web casts and an ITUPLink session or 2. If you have not had a chance to check out IT Uplink you may want to head over there. It’s a great way to see topics on a professional set just like the vConf that SSWUG does.

Speaking about SSWUG I have an article that I just finished up and is being edited now. This article I think is one of my favorites. I talk about a problem I had once with a CFO and how he ended up stealing the data. I believe that will be coming out on SSWUG March 3rd.

Then the last trip I have for the Spring, well the last one planned so far is to head over to SQL Connections in Sunny Florida, I always have fun at connections and I am sure that this year will be no different. This event starts March 22nd.

Well my final note before I sign off is right before I head off to Tucson My wife and I will be celebrating our 8th wedding anniversary We have been together I think 11 years now. I know what your thinking, how did she put up with me for this long, I can tell you the only other person in my life that many years was my Mother.