Archive for January 5, 2009

My New Job

Posted: January 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

I have a very exciting announcement to make. This I am sure is more exciting for me then it is for you, but I have been offered and accepted a new position. Starting Jan 1 I became the Site Manager for SSWUG, one of the best sites on the internet for picking up useful information on SQL Server. If you have not been to SSWUG I recommend that you check it out. There are a lot of new things that are coming down the pipe the first quarter of the year. If there are things that you see there that you would like to see differently please let me know, I want to know how you could find it more useful and easier to use. No idea is to small and no idea is stupid, I want to know how you learn and the best way that I can help in any fashion.

I am not sure if you know the history of SSWUG. But it was founded by a gentleman name Stephen Wynkoop. Stephen and I have known each other for over 15 years by my calendar. If it were not for Stephen I would have never started writing, tech editing or even speaking. I have mentioned in the past that I believe that everyone should have a mentor. Well Stephen was mine. He is the author of a number of books, host of the Select Views show on SSWUG and founder of and SSWUG. There are a lot of people in the field today that have influenced me to do what I do, but Stephen is the guy that I have looked up to for years. The reason I tell you this is because it I find it to be a great honor for him to ask me to help with the site management.

As for what I am doing now… Well a lot is going to change, but not much will change if that means anything. I will be spending more time looking at SSWUG and less time consulting. I will continue to speak when and where ever I can. All my existing clients I will continue to support. I will be writing a lot more and presenting a lot more so the future looks bright. I look forward to my future with SSWUG.